Skip to main content

The 70s: Heavy, Hip and Happenin'

 

February 27–May 4, 2019 

Defined by events like the Watergate scandal, the fall of Saigon and the Iran hostage crisis, the 1970s was a decade of turbulence. Social movements for women's rights and the environment were juxtaposed against disco music and sitcoms. Politics began to become divisive, technology took a giant leap forward, and we experienced a loss of innocence. Join us as we explore the rich history of the 1970s through exhibits, displays, presentations and interactive events.

Please click for a more detailed program list. 

Exhibit Hours: Wednesday, 10am-8pm | Thursday, Friday and Saturday, 10am-4pm

Exhibits: Exhibits are open to the public and presented free of charge. Pre-registration is not required to view exhibits, except for groups of 5 or more, who should call 586.226.4759 to facilitate their visit. Guided tours and scavenger hunts are available to visitors upon request.

Presentations: FREE of charge and typically last one hour. Pre-registration is requested. Registration is Easy! 

Programs:
Kick Out the Jams! Rock of the Seventies in Michael Zadoorian’s Beautiful Music
Saturday, March 2, 2pm

Chile Coup
Thursday, March 7, 12pm

The History and Resurrection of the Equal Rights Amendment
Friday, March 8, 11am

President Richard Nixon
Saturday, March 9, 2pm

Museum Theatre: Turmoil and Transition in the 70s
Wednesday, March 13, 11am,
Also offered: Thursday, March 14, 11am; Saturday, March 30 at 2pm; and Friday, April 12 at 11am.

Cinema 70s: All The President’s Men
Wednesday, March 13, 7pm

Detroit’s 70s Music Scene: A Time of Transition
Friday, March 15, 11am

Kids Korner: Children’s Book Reading
Saturday, March 16, 11am

America’s Discoveries of Space: Chronicling Courage
Saturday, March 16, 2pm

Anything Goes: Fashion of the 1970s
Thursday, March 21, 11am

Stayin’ Alive: The 1970s and the Last Days of the Working Class
Friday, March 22, 11am

Kids Korner: Children’s Book Reading
Saturday, March 23, 11am

Gerald R. Ford, The Nice Guy Fixing Nixon’s Mess
Saturday, March 23, 2pm

Cinema 70s: Monty Python and the Holy Grail
Wednesday, March 27, 7pm

The End of the Vietnam War: Nixon’s Pursuit of “Peace with Honor”
Thursday, March 28, 11am

Contrasts, Contradictions, and Continuity: Understanding Carter’s Cold War
Friday, March 29, 11am

Kids Korner: Children’s Book Reading
Saturday, March 30, 11am

Cinema 70s: Willy Wonka
Friday, April 5, 11am

Sensational Crimes of the 70s: Serial Murders and Cult Killings
Saturday, April 6, 1pm

Why Were We Watching Roots?
Wednesday, April 10, 12pm

Political and Demographic Upheaval in Detroit: The Age of Coleman Young Begins
Wednesday, April 10, 7pm

The Twin Oil Shocks of the 1970s: The Economics and Politics of the Era
Thursday, April 11, 11am

Sex, Laughs, and Television: Rowan & Martin’s Laugh-In, Jacqueline Susann’s Love Machine, and the Sexual Revolution
Saturday, April 13, 11am

Cinema 70s: Breaking Away
Saturday, April 12, 2pm

Real to Reel: Argo
Wednesday, April 24, 1pm

Philip Hart: A Man of Steel
Thursday, April 25, 11am

Kids Korner: Children’s Book Reading
Saturday, April 27, 11am

RV-ing 1970s Style!
Friday, May 3, 1pm

Flares, Flowers and Funk: Stayin’ Alive in the 70s
Saturday, May 4, 2pm

All events are FREE however preregistration is required. Please visit LorenzoCulturalCenter.com for event descriptions and registration.

Program Partners for The 70s: Heavy, Hip and Happenin’

Bob Appel
Richard Beringer
Sonya K. Brett Memorial Endowment Fund for Cultural Enrichment
George Burcar
The Center for Civic Education
Character.org Brentwood Middle School by John McCabe
Clinton-Macomb Public Library
Richard Daugherty
Detroit Historical Society
Tom Dixon
Earth Day Network in Association with American Experience
The Environmental Protection Agency
Dave Eschner
Scott Filip
Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library & Museum
Lois Jackman
The Kresge Foundation
Library of Congress
John Lind
Macomb Community College History Department
Macomb Intermediate School District
Macomb Multicultural International Initiatives
Michigan Council for Arts and Cultural Affairs
Michigan Humanities Council
The National Archives and Records Administration
The National Endowment for the Arts
The National Endowment for the Humanities
Public Broadcasting System (PBS)
PBS Learning Media
PBS Newshour
Debbie Remer
Romeo Arts & Archives Museum
Seeking Michigan
The Smithsonian Institution
The Teaching Channel and the Boeing Company
Teachrock
Walter P. Reuther Library, Archives of Labor and Urban Affairs
William L. Clements Library, University of Michigan

Lorenzo Cultural Center