Skip to main content

Let's Play! Toys, Games and Culture

February 25—May 2, 2020

Register Now!
Have you ever wondered how the game Monopoly got started? Or when the first Barbie was made? Was your favorite childhood toy a popular sensation? Are you aware there is a link between gaming and cognitive skills? Designed to be both a walk down memory lane and a critical look at how toys and games influence our culture and society, this exhibit features displays, artifacts, information and ideas that give a nod to our past and a look to the future.

Exhibit Hours: Tuesday 10am–4pm | Wednesday, 10am–8pm | Thursday–Saturday, 10am–4pm

All events are free and open to the public, but preregistration is required.

Plan your classroom field trip today! Teacher Resource Guide

Presentations

♦ Thursday, February 27 • 11am
   Backgammon: A Brief History and How to Play
♦ Saturday, February 29 • 11am (registration begins at 10:30am)
   Introduction to Magic: The Gathering
♦Thursday, March 5 • 11am
   The Immortal Game
♦ Saturday, March 7 • 12–3pm
   Play Day with the Ann Arbor Hands-on Museum 
♦ Wednesday, March 11 • 6pm
   Toy Story
♦ Thursday, March 12 • 11am
   Toy Trains and Play in the Industrial Age
♦ Thursday, March 12 • 1pm
   Little Armies: A History of Toy Soldiers and Miniature Civilian Figures
♦ Friday, March 13 • 11am
   The Genius of LEGO: How LEGO Became the World’s Greatest Building Toy
♦ Saturday, March 14 • 2pm
   A Brief History of Video Games: Their Art, Technology, and Culture
♦ Wednesday, March 18 • 6pm
   Clue
♦ Thursday March 19 • 11am
   How Kindergarten Changed the World
♦ Friday, March 20 • 11am
   Families at Play: How Video Games Bring People Together
♦ Saturday, March 21 • 11am
   Yo-yo Tricks
♦ Saturday, March 21 • 2pm
   The Monopolists: Obsession, Fury and Scandal Behind the World’s Favorite Board Game
♦ Wednesday, March 25 • 11am
   Playing with History: Songs and Creative Movement for Children
♦ Friday, March 27 • 11am
   Toying with Science 
♦ Saturday, March 28 • 2pm
   Seize the Play: How Play Powers Performance
♦ Wednesday, April 1 • 6pm
   Toy Story 2 
♦Thursday, April 2 • 11am
   Post World War II Scale Modeling, the Military Industrial Complex in Miniature
♦ Saturday, April 4 • 10am–4pm
   Cube Day Macomb
♦ Wednesday, April 15 • 1pm
   Dressing Barbie: A Celebration of the Clothes that Made America’s Favorite Doll and the Woman Behind Them
♦ Thursday, April 16 • 11am
   Back to the Future: Toy Design from Then to Now
♦ Thursday, April 16 • 1pm
   9 Wonder Women of Toys
♦ Friday, April 17 • 11am
   The Face on the Lunch Box: 100 Years of Character Products
♦ Friday, April 17 • 1pm
   Plastics and Progress: Baby Boom Toys
♦ Saturday, April 18 • 12–3pm
   Play Day with the Ann Arbor Hands on Museum
♦ Thursday, April 23 • 11am
   What Makes a Toy and Why is it Important? 
♦ Thursday, April 23 • 1pm
   Esports in Intercollegiate Athletics  
♦ Wednesday, April 29 • 6pm
   Toy Story 3
♦ Thursday, April 30 • 11am
   Pioneer Playtime 
♦ Friday, May 1 • 11am
   Soldiers at Play

Lorenzo Cultural Center